First Impressions: Borderlands

I’m not a huge fan of RPG’s, to be honest, but so far I am enjoying 2K’s Borderlands. I’m not too sure where the dislike for the genre came from, I think it was the fact that I had to put so much time into the game that my, then, young mind couldn’t handle. Wanting a more varied gaming library may have caused my gaming mind to “mature” and become more patient with these games. I don’t know, either way this game has me hooked.

One of the main attractions of this game for me was the genre-melding FPS gameplay which is mixed with the behind the scenes RPG levelling systems. I have found the different weapons, and their stats, to be a big part of my experience in the game; having the game force me to use something new because the old weapon just won’t deal enough damage. I have to learn how to use the new weapon most effectively; how to conserve ammo with it and even when to use it.

The Graphics are quite different compared to Fallout 3, Final Fantasy, or most games for that matter. The Cell Shaded style just differentiates this game from the others. The graphics are light, airy and easy to look at; even though they use a very brown pallet in the villages and outposts that I have ventured through.

There are a few niggles that I have found so far. I don’t like the driving, there is nothing wrong with the vehicles on the game, it’s the mapping of the controls that have destroyed it for me. It just feels really weird to drive, especially for the first 15-30 minutes. It’s not imposable to get on with, yet I maintain that the I would be a better driver with the controls mapped to more “sensible” buttons.

However, Borderlands is shaping up well so far. I’m not too far into the game, I don’t think, but it feels right and it has certainly got me hooked with prospects of a Vault filled with riches!

Keep checking back for a full review.

Leave a Reply

