Do we not need a 360 to use Kinect?

Microsoft, in an attempt to get kinect into all living rooms, even those without Xbox 360’s, are attempting to make the Kinetic a standalone feature with next generation TV set, The Daily, an online news site, reports.

The Daily states that a Kinect-enabled TV would likely network with local PCs running Windows 8 and enable gesture-based TV control. TVs would also be able to detect individuals and automatically resume programming. While this all sounds very nice, it does sound very complex. How much money are people going to want to spend on a Windows 8 computer, a next gen TV and kinect, just to wave their arms at the screen to pause a film.

However, according to The Daily, who have sources that are at the heart of the “system’s” development, Microsoft hopes to integrate its Kinect motion sensor into TVs and is in the early stages of licensing the technology to the likes of Sony and Vizio.

This move would place Microsoft squarely in competition with Google TV and possibly with Apple, if reports of a forthcoming Apple TV are true.

7 thoughts on “Do we not need a 360 to use Kinect?

  1. I?m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something referring to this.

  2. So I’m obviously new to the site. I figured out how to customize my blog page but now I need some help learning how to delete the posts that seem to automatically be there as examples and create my own..

  3. This is very interesting, you’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic posts. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

